Everyone said this was an award-winning community project.

Now, here’s the proof.

Members of the SLP Historical Wayside Park/Beehive Restoration Committee:
  1. Kathy Johnson, Jeanne Andersen, Bob Jorvig, Bob and Barbara Reiss of the St. Louis Park Historical Society

  2. Bruce Cornwall, Resident/Park Commissioner

  3. Bette Danielson, Nordic Ware

  4. Mike McGarvey, Resident/Landscape Architect

  5. Chris Reiss, Resident/Rotary Club

  6. Elizabeth Walton, Mn/DOT

  7. Adam Fulton, Meg McMonigal and Sean Walther, City Staff - Planning

  8. Bill Thurston and City Staff - Engineering

  9. Jim Vaughan and Rick Birno, City Staff - Parks and Recreation.


The City of St. Louis Park’s renovation of Lilac Park has won ‘Best of Class’ in the 25th Anniversary Minnesota Community Pride competition, in the Natural Resource/Environment/Parks category.

Congratulations to the St. Louis Park Historical Wayside Park/Beehive Restoration Project committee. All their hard work has earned them well-deserved accolades. Laukkonen Design and the Campaign to Restore Lilac Way are proud to have been a small part of this history-making project.

This annual competition recognizes Minnesota communities in overall community and economic development achievement and innovations in specific disciplines, including education, broadband deployment and application, health care, entrepreneurship support, arts and culture, community design, housing and natural resources and the environment.

Finalist communities were determined by a panel of judges, who reviewed all the entries. Winners were selected by the public at www.MinnPost.com and were announced at the Minnesota Community Pride Showcase on September 6th, 2009 at the Minnesota State Fair.

Thanks to Marney Olson at the City of St. Louis Park, for entering this amazing project into the competition.

In addition to the City of St. Louis Park, this year’s finalists included Baudette, Caledonia, Detroit Lakes, East Grand Forks, Glencoe, Hoffman, Lake City, Lanesboro, Madelia, Mankato, Maynard, the Minneapolis Neighborhood Revitalization Program, Sebeka, Staples and the Willmar Design Center.